All Moreton Bay City Council winners declared in Local Government Elections

Published 6:00pm 28 March 2024

All Moreton Bay City Council winners declared in Local Government Elections
Words by Nick Crockford

The winners in all seven positions up for grabs on Moreton Bay City Council, have been formally declared today.

Electoral Commission Queensland (ECQ) has announced online that six sitting councillors have been returned, along with newcomer Jim Moloney.

Mr Moloney, who faced four rivals in the race to replace Mick Gillam, who retired, was the second last to have his victory in Division 8 confirmed yesterday.

The final Moreton Bay declaration in the 2024 Local Government Elections came in Division 5 late this afternoon with Sandra Ruck winning  a second term.

Both had leads of around 12 per cent – at the time of writing - in the two closest contests for Council positions, though their nearest rivals conceded soon after the March 16 polling day.

Mark Booth (Division 2), Adam Hain (Division 3), Karl Winchester (Division 6), Matt Constance (Division 10) and Tony Latter (Division 12) had already secured new terms.

All had more comfortable victories with winning margins ranging from between 15 and 73 per cent.

Mayor Peter Flannery, Brooke Savige (Division 1), Jodie Shipway (Division 4), Yvonne Barlow (Division 7), Kath Tonks (Division 9) and Darren Grimwade (Division 11) were all returned uncontested.

Moreton Bay City Council

(ECQ official first preference figures. Some may still be updated)

Division Two: Declared

(Burpengary East and parts of Beachmere, Burpengary, Caboolture, Deception Bay, Morayfield, Narangba and Ningi)

Mark Booth 20,267

Greg Dillon 3240

Division Three: Declared

(Caboolture South and parts of Bellmere, Caboolture, Moodlu and Morayfield)

Adam Hain 14,614

Kerri Raedel 8017

Division Five: Declared

(Newport, Rothwell, Scarborough and parts of Deception Bay, Kippa-Ring and Narangba)

Garry Ohlson 2712

Sandra Ruck 11,716

Dean Teasdale 8934

Division Six: Declared

(Clontarf, Margate, Redcliffe, Woody Point and parts of Kippa-Ring)

Benita Suckling 6384

Karl Winchester 15,836

Division Eight: Declared

(Bray Park, Lawnton, Petrie, Strathpine and parts of Joyner, Kallangur and Kurwongbah)

Sue Laird 3219

Stephen Huxtable 1340

Jamie Walter 5689

Tara Seiffert-Smith 2555

Jim Moloney 8333

Division Ten: Declared

(Arana Hills, Bunya, Draper, Everton Hills, Ferny Hills and parts of Albany Creek)

Matt Constance 14,799

Andrew Murphy 3322

Brent McDowall 4545

Division 12: Declared

(Bellthorpe, Booroobin, Bracalba, Campbells Pocket, Cedarton, Commissioners Flat, D'Aguilar, Delaneys Creek, Moorina, Mount Delaney, Mount Mee, Neurum, Rocksberg, Stanmore, Stony Creek, Upper Caboolture, Wamuran, Wamuran Basin, Woodford and parts of Bellmere, Burpengary, Caboolture, Elimbah, Moodlu and Morayfield)

Errol O'Brien 2318

Adrian Raedel 8698

Tony Latter 12,367


Related Stories

Popular Stories

Dolphins battered in Battle for Brisbane
News / Sport

Dolphins battered in Battle for Brisbane

An already depleted Dolphins side is likely to be without Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow for a few weeks after he suffered a hamstring injury in tonight’s Battle for Brisbane. Head Coach Wayne Bennett says to ‘trust me, we’ll deal with it’ as the squad prepares for a trip to Darwin next week

Supernode to be built in Brendale
News / Local

Supernode to be built in Brendale

Work will start soon in Brendale on one of Queensland’s biggest Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESS). ** FREE TO READ **

Fishing tips: What's biting in April 2024
News / Local

Fishing tips: What's biting in April 2024

April heralds the start of the change of seasons and it is a great time for mixed bags in the local area. Water temperature will start to drop, day length is becoming shorter, and the wind generally shifts more to the southwest in the mornings. Here's some fishing tips from our expert