Who does - and does not - have to vote

Published 6:00am 23 February 2024

Who does - and does not - have to vote
Words by Nick Crockford

Almost 140,000 registered electors in the City of Moreton Bay will NOT have to vote in the Local Government Elections next month.

Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) figures show that is 40.5 per cent of the Council area’s 345,350 registered electors.

It follows the close of nominations which left Mayor Peter Flannery and five sitting councillors uncontested for their positions.

Division 1: Brooke Savige returns for a third term covering Banksia Beach, Bellara, Bongaree, Donnybrook, Godwin Beach, Meldale, Sandstone Point, Toorbul, Welsby, White Patch, Woorim and parts of Beachmere, Caboolture, Elimbah and Ningi.

Division 4: Jodie Shipway, who was also Deputy Mayor, is back for a second term as councillor for Mango Hill, North Lakes and parts of Griffin.

Division 7: Yvonne Barlow, who replaced Denise Sims in 2021, has been returned in Dakabin, Murrumba Downs and parts of Griffin and Kallangur.

Division 9: Cath Tonks will be back for a second term representing Brendale, Clear Mountain, Eatons Hill, Warner and parts of Albany Creek, Cashmere and Joyner.

Division 11: Darren Grimwade is back for a third term as councillor for Armstrong Creek, Camp Mountain, Cedar Creek, Closeburn, Dayboro, Highvale, Jollys Lookout, King Scrub, Kobble Creek, Laceys Creek, Mount Glorious, Mount Nebo, Mount Pleasant, Mount Samson, Ocean View, Rush Creek, Samford Valley, Samford Village, Samsonvale, Whiteside, Wights Mountain, Yugar and parts of Cashmere, Joyner, Kurwongbah and Narangba.

But, residents in Divisions 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10 and 12 WILL go to the polls on March 16, but only vote for their local councillor. Check your division area by clicking here.

State-wide, 15 mayoral and 46 councillor positions were uncontested with Moreton Bay City Council and some divisions in Banana Shire Council and Isaac Regional Council, not having to vote at all.

“Our priority is making sure electors in Moreton Bay understand the situation ahead of the voting period kicking off on March 4,” Electoral Commissioner Pat Vidgen said.

“It’s important for those electors in the remaining divisions of Moreton Bay City Council to be aware they still need to vote for their councillor and voting is compulsory in local government elections.

“If electors don’t know which divisional area they are in, now’s the time for them to head to our website to look this up so they know whether they need to vote in these elections.”

As a result of the uncontested positions, 25 booths and an early voting centre at Bongaree will not be used. Around 148 temporary election staff will also not be needed.

“Over the next week or so we will be looking at how we can re-deploy those staff in other areas,” Mr Vidgen said.

ECQ has awareness activities in the lead-up to election day with information about the changes, via the website and through email, SMS and local advertising.

Early voting is from March 4-15; postal applications close March 7, election day is March 16 from 8am-6pm and the close of return of postal votes is March 26.

For further information visit www.ecq.qld.gov.au


Related Stories

Popular Stories

Markets return to Old Fire Station

Markets return to Old Fire Station

Moreton Bay Arts Council is gearing up for its second Arts and Crafters Market of the year on July 27 at the Old Fire Station Art Gallery. Here's the details

Renee's ready for Paris
News / Local

Renee's ready for Paris

Renee Taylor, the former Redcliffe Hockey Club junior, says the Paris Olympic Games are "going to be something else!”

Recipe for tuckshop win
News / Local

Recipe for tuckshop win

The team at Scarborough State School have revealed what it takes to win Tuckshop of the Year after bringing home the honour from P&C Queensland's awards in May. Here's the story